About Us


Manhood, Scholarship, Perseverance, and Uplift

On Friday evening, November 17, 1911, three Howard University  undergraduate students, with the assistance of their faculty adviser, gave birth to the Omega Psi Phi Fraternity. This event occurred in the office of biology Professor Ernest E. Just, the faculty adviser, in the Science Hall (now known as Thirkield Hall). The three liberal arts students were Edgar A. Love, Oscar J. Cooper and Frank Coleman. From the initials of the Greek phrase meaning “friendship is essential to the soul,” the name Omega Psi Phi was derived. The phrase was selected as the motto. Manhood, Scholarship, Perseverance and Uplift were adopted as cardinal principles. A decision was made regarding the design for the pin and emblem, and thus ended the first meeting of the Omega Psi Phi Fraternity.

Chapter History

The Tau Tau Chapter of Omega Psi Phi, Inc. was founded February 3rd, 1961 in Compton, California. The chapter’s inception was spearheaded by Brother Rowland Powell.  Brother Powell had recently returned to the Compton area after distinctively serving in the Korean War.  He quickly identified inactive Omega Men in the surrounding area and set out to lead the way to establish what is now the largest graduate chapter in the 12th District.

The 1911 Project Presents – Tau Tau Chapter 49th Anniversary Celebration HQ


Tau Tau Chapter History Book – Updated January 19, 2020

(Click the following link to view)

Tau Tau Chapter History


A Hugh Harvey’s Hundreds Surprise – Steve thought he was picking the final Harvey’s Hundred contestant. He didn’t expect to recognize the face that came up!

(Click the following link to view)



The Lineage of Tau Tau Chapter

Click on this link for Chapter Lines:



Welcome To Our New Tau Tau Brothers

Click on link below:



Lifting as we Climb

The Brothers of Tau Tau Chapter are committed to continuing to reach higher goals and accomplishments. We believe by elevating our status as leaders, educators, mentors, etc… we can elevate the status and residents of our communities. As we reach our goals, we reach back to the surrounding neighbors and communities to lift them up. Hence our motto, “Lifting as we Climb”.

Upperman to Succeed Brock as Surgeon-in-Chief – September 2019

Tau Tau Chapter Formal Meeting – June 2019

McNeill – Blk Executive in Corporate America – Savoy Spring 2020

Graduation Celebration Reception – December 2018

McNair Elementary School – May 2018

Park Windsor Baptist Church –  April 2018

Brandman University – Ontario Campus April 2018

Deltas in the Park January 2018

Keeper of the Dream Award January 2018

Southwest Realtors Association December 2017

Interview with Tau Tau Founder Huey Dredd March 2018

On March 18, 2018, Brothers from Omega Psi Phi Fraternity, Inc. met with Tau Tau Chapter founder Brother Huey Dredd. This meeting took place at Oakmount of Capriana, located at 460 La Floresta Dr., Brea, Ca 928231.

The following Brothers were in attendance Ricky Lewis, Ed Young, Rodney Brooks, Charles Ezell, Paul Hodson, and George Lee (Rho Iota Iota Chapter). The purpose of this meeting was to interview Brother Huey Dredd to learn what it took to establish Tau Tau Chapter, and to gain wisdom and uplift from his many years as a member of our Fraternity.

(Photo Gallery)

Interview with Tau Tau Chapter Founder Huey Dredd March 2019

Interview with Tau Tau Chapter Founder April 2019

(Left-to- right) Brother and Dr. Thomas Gibson, Brother Paul Hodson, and Brother and Rev. Terrell Taylor.